Inspired

Crafts and other inspirations

earth day tutorial: Recycled Notecards April 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — tomboyemily @ 6:04 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I am an avid blog reader and pretty crafty, I think.  I was reading Dana’s blog MADE and saw her fabulous notecards.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t have any blank notecards on hand, and there really isn’t any place to get them around here.  So, I started thinking.  And this morning, after pouring my kid some cereal, I realized that I had material for notecards in my hand!  Thankfully, his cereal was stale, so I threw out the rest of his Puffins, and got to work making my own notecard blanks!

Materials:

light cardboard– posterboard, box from cereal, crackers ice cream cones, etc.  Beer box is about as heavy as I would try.  I tried a box that held instant dinners, and it was too thick to fold easily.  I still used it, but I am not sure I like the creases it made on the inside of the card.

*UPDATE* If a box seems too heavy to fold, try folding it the other way before you discard it for this craft.  A box of granola bars was super hard to fold up and down, but when I folded it left to right, it folded quite easily.

paint– I used what I had on hand, which was bronze spray paint.  You can use contact paper if you want, or sew the back too.  You would just need a piece of paper to tape/glue to the inside.

paper cutter– straight cuts are good.

1.  Find a box.  This ice cream cone box will yield 4 4″x4″ cards.

2.  Open the box at its seams.  Don’t worry about tearing the flaps, it’s the bigger rectangles you will be using.

3.  Using the paper cutter, cut the box into strips at the crease.  I used the creases to line up the card.  It is helpful to fold down the flaps  while you are cutting.

4.   Now cut the flaps off, again using the crease as a guide.

5.  You should now have a nice, pretty straight rectangle (or square, depending on the shape of your box.  As long as it has four sides, you are good).

6.  Fold the card in half.  For heavier card, I used the handle of a pair of scissors to press down the crease.

7.  Now, measure the card.  This card was about 5″x4.5″ or so.  I wanted to make a square card, so I first lined up the fold to come up with a straight line.

8.  Cut the bottom off( NOT THE FOLD), leaving 4″.

This is NOT the fold!!

9.  Now, line up the card along the top, again using the fold as a guide.  Line up the side at about 4.25 or so.  Leave some room.  Right now you are just cutting to square up the card.

10.  Flip the card over, line up, and NOW cut at 4″.  Your card should be pretty dang straight at this point.

11. At this point you could call it good if you wanted to give out keebler elf cards.  That might be pretty rockin’.  But today, we are covering up the card completely.  So, get out your spray paint (or whatever covering up medium you have on hand).

12.  Lightly coat the backside of your card.  To determine the backside, find the part of the card in the best shape.  If you tore off some of the top layer of card in step 2, then that will be your front side since we will be covering the front with fabric.

13.  Apply as many light coats as needed.

The Puffin cereal box that started it all...

Voila!  Now its time to follow Dana’s directions here.

Linked to:
Life in the Pitts

HookingupwithHoH

UndertheTableandDreaming

 

7 Responses to “earth day tutorial: Recycled Notecards”

  1. J.Hill Says:

    Excellent tutorial (and way to recycle)! I am always searching around for blank cards in my junk drawer and can never seem to find any. Hmm… maybe I never bought any in the first place…. Now I can just make some!

    Thanks for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

  2. Jenn Says:

    Super green! I like the Keebler Elfs 🙂

  3. Cheryl Says:

    Great idea – we ALWAYS have an overfilled recycling bin with boxes like that. Thanks for linking up to Craftastic Monday!

  4. Kelly Says:

    Mentioned your blog on my blog tonight! Thanks for sharing the “green” idea!!!

  5. Great idea! I love reusing junk I already have!!

    Thanks for Hookin’ Up with me at my first party!

  6. What a super cool idea! Great tutorial too! Thanks so much for stoppinng by and joining the Sunday Showcase Party. I greatly appreciate it! Hope you are enjoying your week! ~ Stephanie Lynn

  7. […] has five pockets, left to right- pen, pocket for stamps, envelopes, tall greeting cards (homemade, from this tutorial), and short […]


Leave a Reply

