Inspired

Crafts and other inspirations

Inspired: Mod Podge and food coloring April 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — tomboyemily @ 2:12 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love taking the ideas others have and making them my own.  I stumbled across Gingerbread Snowflake’s blog not that long ago.  I was so inspired by her lamps that I took my frugal butt down to the hardware store and bought some Modge Podge!  It wasn’t cheap, because I live in a teeny county, but I wanted to make sure I made these things right! I then discovered we had only two colors of food coloring, so I had to buy the most expensive food coloring I have ever bought: it was $4!!!  For a set of four itty bitty bottles!  Its okay, I am over it, and I made SO many jars/vases/ etc that I think I got my money’s worth.

Ms. Snowflake has a terrific tute, so I will just show you what I came up with.

Green jars:


These jars were originally clear, and I bought them for 50c at the thrift store.  I coated the brush with Mod Podge paint and applied stripes down the jar, not lifting the brush till I got to the end.  This technique makes the jars look wavy and old timey.

Closeup:

Whoops, don’t mind the piece of paper!  It stowed away with my glass marbles.

Just one more, because I love how this came out:

Some vases that I picked up for  25c each and painted:

I put like three or four coats on each vase.  The result is SUPER transparent if you just put a light coat.  For reference, that green jars were coated two or three times.

My favorite!  Spice jars that I wanted to paint to go better with my kitchen:

I love these!!

Check out Gingerbread Snowflakes!

Party on!
Life in the Pitts

Show and Tell Green
HookingupwithHoH

SYS Mothers Day

UndertheTableandDreaming

featured!

 

13 Responses to “Inspired: Mod Podge and food coloring”

  1. pam Says:

    Emily! These are amazing! I am completely blown away! I saw that you had posted them on my flickr and was so impressed with the depth of color and transparency you achieved. I appreciate you sharing your technique so that others can see that pastels isn’t the only way to go!

    And thank you so much for sharing these on the flickr group! They are beautiful!

  2. Lisa Says:

    I love these! The colors are soooo pretty!

  3. Tiffany Says:

    These are beautiful. You should definitely try out screen printing with the mod podge.

  4. Danielle Says:

    What a great idea! I never would have thought to put food coloring in my Mod Podge!

  5. care-in Says:

    This is so fun…i had no idea you could do this!

  6. Are you for real? I had no clue you could do that!! Wow, I’ve been wanting to paint glass lately, but I want it to stay transparent. Perfect solution. I’m excited about this.

    Thanks for Hookin’ Up with me at my first party!

  7. ann Says:

    Love this idea! I love colored glass for bright spots of color in my house and this is the perfect solution to get what I want!

  8. What a fabulous idea! Your glass jars and bottles look amazing! I really need to try this! Great inspiration! Thanks again for stopping by and joining the Sunday Showcase Party. I greatly appreciate it! Hope you are enjoying your week! ~ Stephanie Lynn

  9. Katy Says:

    I have a thing for jars and glass of any kind. What a fun technique to try. Love the look!

  10. pam Says:

    Emily,

    I left a message and link on your about page by mistake. Amy at Mod Podge Rocks has featured your beautiful jars on her site! I left the link on the “about” page. Go check it out!

  11. […] pm I was inspired a while ago by Pam from Gingerbread Snowflakes. She showed me this and I made these. Lovely Pam mentioned my creations to Amy from Mod Podge Rocks (hi Rockers!!! Thanks for checking […]


Leave a comment