Inspired

Crafts and other inspirations

Infant shirt turned clothespin holder! May 3, 2010

Filed under: Thrift Store Crafts,Uncategorized — tomboyemily @ 12:20 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Recently I showed you several thrift store items.  Who guessed this:

could be turned into this:

We have a clothesline here, and I am too cheap to buy bags like this one.  I knew I could make something very similar.  Hey, it only took me three years!  Well, three years and maybe 30 minutes.  This thing was such a snap to work up, its pretty ridiculous how long I procrastinated.

I checked that the child size hanger I had would fit, then cut the arms off right below the shoulders.

I did this backwards, but I should have sewn the button up first, leaving one or two buttons open.




Next, turn the shirt inside out and sew the bottom part and the arm parts closed.

Turn right side out, and make a V neckline by folding back the button and button hole parts.  Sew open.   This will make it easier to grab a clothespin.

Fit the hanger into the shirt.  Mine fit pretty snugly, so I didn’t worry about sewing the hanger to the shirt, but you can hand sew that part, if you want.

All done!  Just in time for spring!

 

2 Responses to “Infant shirt turned clothespin holder!”

  1. J.Hill Says:

    What a clever idea! Thanks for the tutorial.

    Thanks also for linking up to the Mad Skills party!

  2. Laura Says:

    What a great idea! Thanks for linking up to Saturday is Crafty Day!


Leave a Reply

