Inspired

Crafts and other inspirations

Happy Mother’s Day! May 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — tomboyemily @ 12:13 am

To each and every one of you.  To those who are mothers, will become mothers, were mothers for a moment…

To those who are mothers of children who were birthed by another.

Today I honor women.  Even if you do not have children, you are influencing children by your presence.  That just blows my mind, but it is so true.

Ok, back to crafting!  I have been dying to show you this Mother’s Day craft since I made it, but my mom reads this blog, so I couldn’t show it till today.  These are 3×3 cardboard squares sewn with two different fabrics.  The letters are paper, and I hotglued them onto the fabric.  I tried sewing them, but that didn’t work so well.

From me to you:

So, I know the apostrophe is upside down, but it wouldn’t stick otherwise ;).

So, this banner was kinda crazy to make and took all day.  I was NOT doing that again!

Still,I had a deadline to meet and one more mother’s day gift to make!  Here’ what I made my MIL (mother-in-law):

Remember these?

Well, the white placemats needed help.  I decided to tea stain them.  That certainly made them… browner.  After they dried, I was kinda digging the antiqued/distressed look.  I found instructions to make a placemat into a greeting card holder, so I got to work.

Inside:

I wanted to add a little color, so I sewed some aqua thread around the edges.

Then, I added a cute felt butterfly:

Check out its antenna!  It was just the ends of the thread!

I added a ribbon, but wanted to keep the line of color going, so I stitched it all the way across the outside:

I tied it up and it was ready to go!

Inside.  It has five pockets, left to right- pen, pocket for stamps, envelopes, tall greeting cards (homemade, from this tutorial), and short cards:

I hope you all have a wonderful Sunday!

 

Leave a Reply

