Inspired

Crafts and other inspirations

Inspired by my favorite places: Cambria May 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — tomboyemily @ 12:01 am

Sunday! I love Sunday. It feels like a brand new, fresh start, every week. I start the week today, go to church, pray, try to remember the good in life.

Today I am thinking about one of my favorite places. I would love if you could share with me.

This is a place I visit frequently:
photo found on http://www.cambriachamber.org/scenery-pics.php

Cambria, CA A gorgeous seaside town on the  Central California coast.  Before we moved to the mountains, my husband and I would travel here at least 2-3 times yearly.  I loved walking the coastline and exploring the tidal pools.  My favorite animals, elephant seals, have their pups at Piedras Blancas, just north of Cambria.

photo found on http://www.cambriachamber.org/scenery-pics.php

The town of Cambria reminds me of an English village (no, I have never actually been to England, but I have seen pictures and read books!).  The town itself is divided into two parts, the east village, and the west village.  The west village is nearer the beach, and I think its more casual, and aimed more at the day tripper or camper.  It was actually a couple visits before we even ventured into the east village.  The east village has more “high end” restaurants, and caters to the resort guests.

Our favorite place to stay is in the east village. Bridge Street Inn is nestled in between a country church and a tea room.  the inn is a friendly hostel/B&B with incredibly reasonable rates.  In fact, I think they have lowered their rates since the last time we visited.

We love Bridge Street Inn because the people there (the owners as well as fellow guests) expect to talk with other guests.  The owners are interested in who we are, and can give advice on fun and cheap things to do in town.  If you are lucky, you can even have the opportunity to eat in the common room with the owners and other guests over a pot of freshly picked mushroom soup!

You may have heard of Hearst Castle.  I have actually only been there twice.  It’s a beautiful place, and worth a trip, but it isn’t a place I go frequently.  I love to imagine myself as a guest to Mr Hearst, but I guess it makes me sad to see such a gorgeous place unused.  And of course, I know that the only reason I even get the opportunity to SEE the castle is because it has been given to the state.   A lesser known place is actually more fun, to me, than Hearst Castle, and you don’t even need to leave town!  You do, however, need to hike a VERY steep hill.

Nitt Witt Ridge was home to “Der Tinkerpaw,”  an eccentric man who supposedly “borrowed” “leftover” material from Hearst Castle (which he worked on) to build his home.  He also used pipes for rails, beer cans for raised garden beds and retaining walls, and toilet seat lids for picture frames.  Talk about crafty recycling gone wild!  The current owners of Nitt Witt Ridge are fun people who will give you an informative, quirky tour of this home.  Last I heard, they could not accept money or donations for the tour, so if you visit, please visit their gift shop and buy stuff, so they can keep giving the tours.

I am a person motivated and enthralled by nature.  When the weather is good (which is most of the time) or when we are extra broke (also, most of the time) we camp at San Simeon State Park.  For a fee much smaller than the cheapest area hotel, we can sleep right next to the beach.  In the campground’s day use area there are several nature paths that take you through so many different climates in just a mile or so.  One of the paths near to the ocean starts at a seasonal marshland.  Across a bridge you ascend quickly up a hill into forest. If you take the trail the whole way, you eventually spit out into an arid grassland.  The temperature even heats up.  Just minutes from the Pacific ocean is an area that can be so warm in the summer you need to shed your sweatshirt, and yet, if you walk back to the beach, you will be needing that sweatshirt quickly!

These are just a few reasons why I love Cambria so much, and miss it now that I live in the mountains.

What is your favorite spot?  Link in the comments.  I hope I have inspired you to even blog about your fave destination.  If I have, please include the link in your comment.

Happy Sunday!

link party!

 

6 Responses to “Inspired by my favorite places: Cambria”

  1. mom Says:

    Wow. What a great blog. I’m homesick. I love Heart’s Ease there. Cambria is also a great place to go and people watch. If you’re into miniatures, the Toy Soldier shop is a must-see. I love just strolling, and every stroll must end at the “drive-in” down at the end of the block-I forget the name-with ribs to die for and wonderful ice cream. I miss Cambria so much! Carmel is also a great place to visit, but much more expensive. I also enjoy camping at San Simeon, and the best plus for me is being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves.

    • tomboyemily Says:

      West Side Grill I think. I’m not sure if the miniatures shop is still there. It seemed the last time I was there it was mostly war stuff- like model airplanes and stuff. Is Heart’s Ease the place with the mermaid outside?

  2. Monica Says:

    I love Cambria! Such a neat little town. One of our good friends is the head chef at Robin’s Restaurant in Cambria, YUM!

    • tomboyemily Says:

      Monica, I think you told me about that. I am not sure if it was before we went the last time. Robin’s was too rich for us last time. I will have to go there sometime!

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    That sounds absolutely amazing! Thanks for helping me visit that little spot just through your description of it. I’ve been inspired to do a little thinking about my favorite places!

  4. Laura Says:

    That sounds like such a great place!!

    Thanks for linking up to Saturday is Crafty Day at along for the ride!


Leave a Reply

